It’s hard to put into words how I feel about the death of one of the greatest musicians of the last century. He could do ANYTHING. There has never been anyone like him, and there never will be. He was extraordinary in all the ways. It’s hard to come up with a favorite song or album, but my heart has always had a special place for Young Americans. In combing through all the amazing videos, I wanted to share something a bit different. Even though this is a shitty quality video, his voice and his charisma is unmistakable.

 

And this low-brow video for ‘Ashes to Ashes’ from the Scary Monsters album! It’s so bizarre, melancholy, and haunting. That costume! But that’s what to expect from him. He was full of surprises.

 

His music provided the soundtrack to nearly every chapter of my life. I’m so thankful he left such a vast library of music and art for us and for generations to come. My mom was a fan, and my children are fans. He will be timeless.

</3